Breakfast Amazes Me

Trust me when I say I’ve never been a breakfast person. Yeah yeah, it’s the most important meal of the day and studies have shown that people who eat breakfast are healthier than those who don’t blah blah, but skipping it seems more convenient. I had this mindset when I was younger that as soon as I wake up I had to get ready for school. I hated being late, so I never really gave breakfast a thought when I was still studying.

Now that I’m a few months fresh from college graduation and working part-time as a teacher, well, it’s enough to say that (finally) I have enough time to eat in the morning. My classes are all in the afternoon, so I practically have the whole morning for breakfast or brunch.

I’m basically an instant oatmeal from the sachet kind of the guy. I don’t like to think about what I’m going to eat nor do I want to stress myself with prepping a meal when I’m not in the mood, which is most of the time. It’s a good thing my aunt usually who cooks for my grandparents has been taking the cudgels of preparing our meals ever since I was born. BUT when I do get inspired, I do try to pay homage to the breakfast gods by producing a decent crazy amazing breakfast fare.

And this morning I was pretty lucky to get the best of both worlds: I didn’t have to think about what to eat AND I had a really perfect rustic breakfast. Mom came home from Manila and brought back a small box full of frozen Ilocos longanisa! I’m not sure if it’s the Lucban variety, but I’m a fan.

I cooked it by first adding water enough to cover the bottom of the pan with the longanisa for it to steam and/or slightly boil. Cooking it that way first makes sure that it cooks evenly. Then when the water evaporates I add a tablespoon of oil and I just let it brown and let the fat render.

This is actually where the magic happens – literally. At this point, oil splatters practically jump out of the pan in any direction, causing the mildest form of pandemonium in the kitchen. It’s amazing that I really wake up at that point. After around 2-3 minutes on both sides, the smell just wafts up my nose and makes my stomach guggle in anticipation, nevermind that I got burned by the oil.

When it’s done, I eat it with rice and I’m instantly in heaven. What I love about Ilocos longanisa is that it’s unpretentious. It doesn’t taste like it’s been through hell and back with preservatives. It’s not sweet AND IT’S LEAN because the fat just renders off perfectly while cooking. I can taste the garlic, and holy mother, it’s GARLICKY. It has the perfect blend of salty and sour, which compels you to eat it with lots and lots of rice. OK, I exaggerate, but that’s just how good it is.

I’m juggling a few ideas as to what I’m going to do with it next. Pasta, pizza, panini…..and ice cream? (haha) That’s how inspired I am this morning.

And doughnuts for breakfast? I’m really not a fan of doughnuts….but maybe for lunch i’ll make an exception.🙂

One thought on “Breakfast Amazes Me

  1. Pingback: Lazy Afternoons and Pasta « The Hungry Giant

Leave a Reply

