Sausage and Caramelized Onions on Ciabatta

A few nights ago my dad came home cranky because he was hungry and he got crankier when we learned that nobody cooked dinner. I think I was still full so I didn’t bother to cook food. And my aunt was lazy to cook so she just reheated whatever leftover crap was in the fridge. So to preempt an impending nuclear meltdown, I decided to whip up his favorite butter sandwich. But then I thought, “It’s boring and vapid”. Yeah, I call food vapid.

There were still some sausages in the refrigerator, and a few pieces of ciabatta left. So taking a cue from a recipe that I read in a local magazine, I decided to slice an onion, caramelize it with sugar, slice and fry the sausages, toast the ciabatta and put it all together to make a pretty good sandwich.

At the end of the night, my dad was still cranky not because he didn’t like the sandwich. He actually it, but when he left what was left of his sandwich on the table because he needed to go to the toilet, my mom finished his sandwich off because she said it was really really good. And when he came back, well, you get the idea. So I just had to make another one. The spicy savory sausages went perfectly well with the sweetness of the onions.

If you’re wondering, the only hungarian sausage I really like is the Mister Sausage variety, which is sold only at LB grocery. I like it because it’s smoky, spicy and savory. The Italian sausage is the Swiss Deli kind.

Sausage and Caramelized Onions on Ciabatta (serves 2)

2 medium sized ciabatta
1 tablespoon cooking oil
2 large white onions, sliced
1 – 2 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 tablespoons vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1 Hungarian sausage, sliced 1/2 inch thick
1 Italian sausage, sliced 1/2 inch thick
2 tablespoons mayonnaise, divided

 

Slice the ciabatta in half. Toast it in an oven toaster for 2 – 4 minutes.

Heat oil in a pan. Add the onions and allow to sweat for about a minute. Add in the sugar. Stir and allow the onions to go limp and take on a light caramel color. Add the vinegar. When done, remove the onions from the pan.

Using the same pan, fry the sausages until it becomes golden brown and the fat renders. Remove from the pan when done.

To assemble: Spread 1 tbsp mayonnaise on one half of the ciabatta. Add the sausage slices evenly on the bread.  Add the caramelized onions on top of the sausages. Top it with the other half of the ciabatta. Repeat the process for the other ciabatta. Serve warm and enjoy.🙂


3 thoughts on “Sausage and Caramelized Onions on Ciabatta

  1. Pingback: Sausage and Caramelized Onions on Ciabatta

    • awww thank you mich! i’ll add your blog to my blogroll as well. nice blog! (though i can’t really relate to the posts on cosmetics, i’ll check it out when you post something about food. hehe)

Leave a Reply

