Slightly Crepes Suzette

So after my less than stellar attempt at crepes last time, and no, I haven’t really tried Spam as a filling, I decided to try my luck with a sweet crepe recipe. I was perusing an old step by step cookbook my mom had lying around when saw this Crepe Suzette recipe that I’ve always wanted to do but I always end up forgetting to. I also wanted to make something before my dad leaves for schooling so consider me sentimental right now.

Crepes Suzette is basically crepes with a butter sauce made of melted butter, caramelized sugar, orange juice and zest and liquor, usually Grand Marnier. Now I enjoy alcohol as much as the next person but I don’t really have it lying around, so I opted not to add any alcohol to the sauce. The flambe would’ve been cool, but I’ll save that for another day.

And I know that we had oranges in fridge, because I was there when we bought them. But they were no where to be seen and I couldn’t really find someone to blame for that..yet, so instead of orange juice, I opted for lemon juice. I know that lemon juice is tarter than orange juice so I reduced the amount of juice needed.

But the combination of rich butter and the clean smell of the lemon just filled the kitchen with total awesomeness. Now I think the sauce could’ve been better; the flame wasn’t at its lowest when I wanted to melt the sugar. I think it melted too fast. So maybe next time I could be a little more patient, because I’m really not. But still, tasting the finished product – a crepe with sugar, butter and lemon just made my day. The taste still lingers in my mouth. I now after a few hours, I’m hungry as hell…again.

Basic Sweet Crepes (makes around 8 -10 crepes)

  • 3/4 cup cold water
  • 3/4 cup cold milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup melted butter + 1/4 cup extra for brushing the pan (one butter block is one cup. 1/2 cup is half the block <1 stick> and 1/4 cup is half the stick)
  1. Combine all liquid ingredients in a blender. Add the dry ingredients and melted butter; mix on high.
  2. Stain batter. Let rest for 30 minutes
  3. Heat a nonstick 10 inch skillet over medium high heat. Brush bottom and sides of pan with melted butter.
  4. Ladle 1/2 cup batter into skillet and swirl to coat bottom evenly. Cook until lightly browned, about 1 – 2 minutes. Using a spatula or your fingers, flip the crepe and cook the other side until lightly browned, about 30 seconds to 1 minute.
  5. Transfer crepes to a platter. Layer crepes over each other with parchment paper in between.

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon zest
  1. Melt the butter in a skillet over LOW fire. Add the sugar and allow to melt. Be patient. Make sure that the heat is at its lowest. Add the lemon juice and mix well. Add the lemon zest.
  2. Add the crepes, 3 – 4 at a time and allow to cook in the sauce for 1 minute. Remove from the pan. Arrange on a plate and pour the sauce over the crepes and serve warm.

One thought on “Slightly Crepes Suzette

  1. Pingback: Crepes Suzette | Food Frenzy

Leave a Reply

