Breakfast Sausage on a Muffin (like the one from…)

If you’ve been visiting my blog time and time again you’ve probably noticed I also change my banner picture at almost the same frequency. I’m indecisive and spontaneous that way.

Anyway, today I started my day a little bit different. By “a little bit different”, I mean I woke up at 5:30 am, to exercise. Well, it’s a stretch because 1. lately my body clock tells me to wake up at 9am and 2. I don’t like exercise. I really don’t. I go to to the gym once I an while, but I stopped for a bit and right now I don’t have the gumption to go back. But today my parents did persuade me to go with them to jog at the sports complex at dawn. I took a break from jogging/running with my dad for almost a year now, so my endurance was weak. But taking that first step and feeling the cold air brush my cheeks as my heart and lungs struggle to keep up was invigorating. Granted, I couldn’t last one lap without stopping, but I was nice. It didn’t help that the rubber split from my shoes so I couldn’t last long.

When we got home I made breakfast sausages. No, not these sausages but ground pork salted and spiced and served warm on toasted English muffins. This is essentially my take on a McDonalds’ classic breakfast fare: the Breakfast Muffin which I’m a big fan of. This didn’t taste like a hamburger patty so I must have done something right.

I didn’t go crazy with the additional toppings because we didn’t have any. We had no produce, cheese and eggs. Poor us. But we did have pimiento spread so I just went with that. I toasted the bread with the pimiento already spread on it so it becomes this sweet buttery gooey accompaniment.

Breakfast Sausages (makes 4 – 5 patties; adapted from yummy.ph)

  • 1/4 kilo ground pork
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tbsp iodized salt
  • 1 tsp freshly cracked pepper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried sage
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 4 – 5 English muffins, halved
  • any additional filling of your choice: cheese, mayo, lettuce (in my case we had homemade cheese pimiento spread lying around so I just used that + we had no lettuce and cheese)
  1. From yummy.ph: “To make sure that your sausage mixture is properly flavored, fry a small portion in a saucepan. Add more of the different spices as needed.”
  2. Thoroughly mix the ground pork with the spices.
  3. Grab a handful of the meat mixture and form into a ball and flatten it to form the patty. Form the patty in such a way that its diameter is slightly more than the diameter of the muffin (In my case it did shrink so it’s a precautionary measure)
  4. Drizzle oil in a nonstick pan and put it over medium heat.
  5. When the oil is hot, fry the sausages 2 or 3 at a time. Do not overcrowd the pan.
  6. Cook one side until it has a nice golden brown color and flip the patties to cook the other side. Once done, remove from heat and repeat the same steps for the remaining sausages.
  7. Toast the muffins until slightly crispy but not burnt. Assemble the sausage on the muffin with your preferred fillings. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

