A Cup of Comfort (Hot Chocolate)

It was raining a few hours ago, and I was being romantic to myself by making hot chocolate. In my old blog, I did give a recipe for hot chocolate that involved melting a block of dark chocolate over a pot of simmering water and adding milk. Looking back I realized that I just posted something my readers will never do, simply because it’s such a hassle to go through that process. I”m lazy by nature and I’ll always look for the easy way out.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love going through the motions of preparing something from scratch just to make breakfast, lunch or dinner special, as if to imply that I’m a cook that breathes for the high road. But after a few months of formally jumping into the world of cooking and food blogging, I’ve also learned that there are just some things that are meant to be so simple, without bells and whistles and still turn out special…amazing even.

Like a mug of rich, hot chocolate. OR two. It’s that simple.

Hot Chocolate (1 mug)

  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • a dash of salt
  • 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup hot water (or enough to fill a mug halfway)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup milk (I used evaporated milk but you can use whole milk)

1. Mix the cocoa powder, sugar and salt in a mug.
2. Add the hot water until halfway full. Stir and mix well.
3. Add the milk until almost full, around 3/4ths. Mix well.
4. Add the vanilla extract and mix well.

Since I like my hot chocolate rich and not too sweet, feel free to adjust to your liking. And a fun fact: after a few hours of letting it sit in the fridge, it tastes even better!

Leave a Reply

