Pork Sinigang

I felt really lazy today. Most of the afternoon I spent sleeping. It’s already evening and I still feel sleepy and tired to type this, but I’d like to believe I’ll survive.

What kept me bogged down today was soup, strangely enough. Since yesterday, I was craving for pork sinigang so much. What’s not to like about pork sinigang? It has veggies to help you rationalize eating so much pork, it’s heavy and hearty so you can eat it as is (but I never do; rice is always best), it’s also an “almost anything goes” kind of soup – you can put in veggies you like and make it as sour as it can be. I really like my sinigang sour but I never worked with tamarinds before so the ready-to-use sinigang tamarind mix works for me.

The soup my dad and I made was a great way to keep you in bed the whole day. Plus we made it after we went on our early morning run, so you can imagine how tired I was. It was really heavy and thinking about it right now makes me sleepy. Dad likes his sinigang with ginger, almost like paksiw, and it made all the difference. Sinigang is one of the dishes where you don’t necessarily follow specific sahog/ingredient proportions. Well, that’s how I see it at least. It’s important to always adjust the taste to your preference. This sinigang really has that subtle “heat” from the ginger and the tang of the tamarind mix. Adding lemongrass doesn’t hurt either. Wow, that took a lot to write. Now excuse me while I hug my pillow and curl up in bed.

Nilagang Baboy/Pork Sinigang (serves 8 )

  • 1 kg pork paikut or pork belly or any cut of your choice, cut into 2 to 3 inch pieces
  • enough water for the soup (I just make sure that it covers the pork enough and fills 1/2 to almost 3/4ths of the pot)
  • half a head of garlic, chopped roughly
  • 2 white onions, quartered
  • one 2 – 3 inch thumb of ginger, sliced
  • 6 tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 tanglad stalk, roughly chopped into 5 to 6 inch pieces
  • 1 pork broth cube
  • two 22-gram sachets sinigang sa sampalok mix
  • string beans cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 bunch pechay (the market where we get our veggies sells them in bunches)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (you can add more vegetables like eggplant, kangkong, sili tops etc)
  1. In a large stockpot (enough to hold everything), place the pork and add water. Place over medium heat and cook for 30 to 40 minutes.
  2. When the soup starts to simmer, add the rest of the ingredients except string beans and pechay, and season to taste. Allow to cook until pork becomes fork tender.
  3. Add the string beans and cook for 3 – 5 minutes or until tender. Then add the pechay and cook for 1 – 2 minutes and remove from heat. Serve with a steaming bowl of rice and enjoy!

And by the way, could you tell me what cut of pork this is? Locally (here in Zamboanga) we call it paikut, but I know it’s not pork belly nor pork chop. If you’re out there, mr./ms. butcher/pork cut connoisseur, help a fella out.

4 thoughts on “Pork Sinigang

  1. This is exactly what I have been craving for a couple of weeks now! I am on my own feet now – so no more of mom’s cooking – and even though my fiancé (who’s not Pinoy) is pretty open to Pinoy cooking (he loves chicken adobo), I am such an inexperienced cook to try Filipino cooking on my own. Your blog however somehow gave me the extra nudge I needed ^^

  2. Naku, miss ko na yan. Especially ang taba ng pork haha. Dito kasi sa US, puro lean ang pork.

    Btw, my husband (who is not Pinoy) also loves sinigang. Lagi niya nirerequest na iluto ko. So yes, there is something about sinigang!😉

Leave a Reply

