My favorite things

In my little corner of the world, the school where I spent my best years in (Ateneo de Zamboanga, run by Jesuits) celebrates a week long “fiesta” (aptly called the Ateneo Fiesta) that squeezes in games/competition between the different departments/schools, alumni homecoming and lots and lots and lots of food booths. Basically students and teachers get a week to bum around, spend their money on street food, henna tattoos and become fiercely competitive in supporting the college/department/school they belong to.

Honestly what makes the Ateneo Fiesta what it is, is really the food. Well, that among other things (like the infernal heat). But come on, who can resist the smell of burning meat on a grill or the sound of ice being crushed in a blender to make a satisfying shake?

One of my favorite booths during the Ateneo Fiesta has got to be this one. I never paid attention to the name, but since time immemorial I’ve called it the Porkchop Place and my friends have taken to call it that as well. Their porkchops are amazing – salty, sour served with a scoop of rice. You can’t help but order another scoop because it’s so satisfying that way. Their booth is as iconic as the fiesta itself. Ever since I was in high school, I’ve been their regular patron during the fiesta. My fiesta experience isn’t complete without it.

Now this fiesta’s breakout star would have to be this one:

Zensonita – milk tea among other things. I’m a sucker for milk tea. I tried Gong Cha in Hong Kong and Chowking’s Nai Cha, and so far I haven’t been disappointed. Now their milk tea “formula” is pretty straightforward: tea + condensed milk. The plastic cup needs to be shaken to mix the components before being punctured with the straw.

On a very humid morning, my first sip of it was magic. No joke. After my first sip, it convinced me to order two more for take out. Then the next day I ordered two more. I am that hooked. I never even read the things below line two. The milk tea and coffee are bestsellers. They have been doing business for a while now (for more than a year I think) along Nunez extension, but it was my first time to try their milk tea during the fiesta. And I’m glad I did!

If you’re wondering where’s the picture of the product, well, I forgot to take a picture of it. It was good enough to make me forget.

So if you’re lucky enough to be in Zamboanga during the fiesta, don’t miss it! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “My favorite things

Leave a Reply

