Batchoy

If only every morning can be as good as batchoy: as amazing as the the thick, chicaron-laden broth and as smooth and velvety as slurping the noodles while making that peculiar sound.

But no, not all mornings are nice. Most of the time I have to drag myself out of bed, and to think I haven’t done anything professionally productive in the last three months!
Photobucket

But it was a relatively calm and peaceful morning today. No, I don’t live in a rough neighborhood. It’s calm and peaceful because everything just fell into place: I woke up in a good mood (and early to boot), and the first thing I did was to finish making the broth that’s been sitting on the stove overnight.
Photobucket

I don’t like eating innards, especially liver. I despise it. And batchoy usually has liver, spleen (and all that nasty stuff) mixed with the broth. So I took matters into my own hands and made a friendlier version of batchoy. I have a pretty good feeling what I made isn’t remotely ‘La Paz’ but nonetheless, it was a great, great start for me today.
Photobucket

Dig in.
Photobucket

Batchoy (serves 6 – 8)

500 grams fresh batchoy noodles (thinner than regular miki noodles)

Broth:

  • 1 whole garlic head, minced
  • 2 large white onions, cubed
  • One 1-inch piece ginger, minced
  • ¼ kg/250 grams pork shoulder, cut into small, ½ inch cubes
  • 2 pork broth cubes
  • 1 shrimp broth cube
  • 2 -3 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon cane vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 10 – 12 cups water
  • Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Salt, to taste
  • Optional: 1 cup crushed pork cracklings

Garnish:

  • 5-6 pieces Napa cabbage/Chinese pechay, sliced thinly
  • 5-6 stalks green onions/scallions, sliced thinly
  • Pork crackling/chicharon, roughly crushed
  1. In a large stockpot, over medium heat heat oil enough to cover the bottom of the pot.
  2. Add the onions and cook until slightly translucent. Add the garlic and ginger and toast until fragrant.
  3. Add the pork and frequently stir to cook. Season with salt and pepper. Allow pork to toast, around 10 – 15 minutes.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients for the broth. Adjust taste to your preference by adding more water or seasoning.
  5. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to the lowest point. Optional: add crushed pork cracklings to the broth and stir. Let it simmer for 1 hour (or more, if you like).
  6. Put noodles in a colander and run it through warm water to clean.
  7. When ready to serve, put noodles and Napa cabbage in individual bowls. Add the broth. Garnish with pork crackling and green onions. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Photobucket

And let me just put it out there: IT’S MORE FUN IN THE PHILIPPINES!

Photobucket

This is by far, my favorite ad shot because of the picture itself

Photobucket

But this one takes the cake. Lechon is amazingly fun after all.

And why exactly we append the article ‘The’, well, maybe this can help. 

12 thoughts on “Batchoy

  1. sorry:/ I’m new in this and I’m kinda lost, I don’t know how to get that button I’m still trying to make my blog look pretty haha but I will add you to my list of favorite blogs🙂

  2. Aha! Natakam ka sa batchoy na niluto ko noh? Ahehe. J/K. Ako rin di ako masyado mahilig sa laman-loob. At di kakainin ng asawa ko pag may intestines! LoL.

  3. Ah batchoy! I grew up selling batchoy at my lola’s store! Hahaha my dad, being from Iloilo, used to make one of the best tasting batchoys I’ve ever had in my life. It’s as siksik as the one you made. Hehe😀

Leave a Reply

