Pork with Tomatoes

Photobucket

I’m a sucker for one-pot/one-pan wonders. This is probably the first one-pan meal I’ve posted, and it’s strange, considering that this is one of my all-time favorite comfort foods. I’ve been consuming this for years now. When my love affair with this dish started, I haven’t the slightest idea. Before I started really cooking, my Mama Eng would cook this like no other person can, for lunch, dinner, sometimes even both.

It may seem extremely counterintuitive but when I was 10 kilograms heavier during my teens, I used to go home after a great game of badminton with a large bowl of pork with tomatoes and a steaming plate of rice waiting for me. Yes, that scenario made so much sense. Really.

Photobucket

This doesn’t have a fancy name. This isn’t even a fancy dish. Comfort food isn’t even supposed to be fancy. It’s simply a basic combination of pork and tomatoes, stir-fried together to make an incredibly satisfying dish. I just really love a simple, easy lunch that doesn’t involve a lot of technique. Don’t get me wrong, I have a list of “complicated” dishes that I hope to accomplish gradually.

Photobucket

But because I’m me, I appreciate quiet breathing spaces along the way, where one pan is all I need to feel good. Oh, of course, a good siesta won’t hurt as well.

Photobucket

Pork with Tomatoes (serves 4)

  • 1 1/2 kg pork shoulder or belly, cubed
  • 1/2 cup water
  • salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste
  • 1 whole garlic bulb, minced
  • 1 large white onion, sliced
  • 6 – 7 medium-sized tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 – 4 tablespoons soy sauce/liquid seasoning (I used Maggi Savor)
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  1. In a large pan/wok, add pork cubes and water. Generously sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  2. Over medium heat, allow to simmer and bring to a boil. Cover and allow to cook for 10 – 15 minutes or until pork is tender. Add more water is necessary if pork is still not tender.
  3. When the pork is cooked and the liquid evaporates completely, the pork’s fat will render. Toast the pork in its own fat, stirring frequently until lightly browned, around 3 minutes.
  4. Push the pork to the side of the pan and add the garlic and onions into the cleared space. Toast the garlic and onions for 30 seconds. Afterwards, stir to incorporate it with the pork.
  5. Add the tomatoes, soy sauce/liquid seasoning, and Worcestershire sauce. Mix everything together and cook until tomatoes soften and go limp.
  6. When done, remove from heat and serve with rice. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Pork with Tomatoes

  1. Wow, this sounds so delicious! Definitely pinning to try out over the weekend. 🙂 Any tips on working with pork belly? Our farmer’s market offers it at an affordable price but I’ve been hesitant to buy it because I’ve never cooked it before.

    • Thanks!😀 Pork belly is easy to cook. Because it has a lot of fat compared to other cuts, make sure to cook it thoroughly to tenderize it. It really depends on what you would do with the pork belly. In this case, if using pork belly instead of shoulder, I’ll make sure the liquid has sufficiently tenderized the pork😀

Leave a Reply

