Egg Rings and Early Mornings

Photobucket

Lately, I rarely get up early. My usual day would begin at around 8:30 am, and then there are 4-hour power interruptions here and there, I usually have brunch, I skip breakfast, I lie in bed all day, I cram work into one day, and I cram some more…
Photobucket

But, when I do get to wake up at 6:00 am, breakfast becomes the most important meal of the day.
Photobucket

This time I baked the egg rings instead of microwaving it. I’m precluding the possibility that the yolk might explode. Yes, it has happened before. Plus, it’s less stressful.

Time slows down and little moments (like having breakfast with people before they leave for work) becomes golden.
Photobucket

Egg Rings

  • ramekins
  • 1 egg for each ramekin
  • 2 strips of bacon for each ramekin
  • a dash of salt and pepper
  • a dash of paprika
  1. Preheat oven to 180 C.
  2. Line the insides of the ramekins with the bacon strips
  3. Crack an egg in the middle of the ramekin
  4. Season with salt and pepper and paprika
  5. Bake for 15 minutes or until the center is set but still slightly wobbly. Ovens behave differently so if you want a runny center, check it at the 15-minute mark.
11 thoughts on “Egg Rings and Early Mornings

  1. Hahhaa i do the same thing 😛 when i wake up late I wont eat much breafkast but when i wake up early i HAVE to have breakfast and because I love desserts I also love breakfast cuz there are so many desserts you can have for breakfast YAY!

  2. I love when simplicity brings out the best in things–these look delicious!

    I make a similar one with cheesy polenta under the eggs topped with a little crispy chorizo. Is it breakfast time yet?

  3. Egg is my all time favorite thing to eat. But I can’t eat eggs for like 2 weeks more. And I’m sitting here looking at your photos…Sigh.. (yum..)

  4. I’m a great fan of baked eggs and these look delicious. I’ve posted my version before. The thing I love about them, is that you can add what ever you have on hand. I’m often disappointed by being out of bacon, but then you can add herbs, or mushrooms, or toms, or ham. It’s endlessly yummy. http://heikeherrling.com/2012/02/11/its-runny-no-yolk-baked-eggs/ I’m also not an early riser, and breakfast usually happens once I get to work (if at all). I might just have to try and get out of bed a little early tomorrow to make these though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

