Blueberries and Cream Graham “Bars”

Photobucket

Here in the Philippines, there’s this easy and inexpensive dessert called Mango Float/Mango Royale that every self-respecting homemaker probably knows how to make. My mom swears it was my aunt/her sister-in-law who shared the recipe, and when my mom first made it at home, my little 8-year old self swore it was the best dessert ever created.

It was refreshingly simple. A pyrex is filled with alternating layers of graham crackers, cream and slivers of mangoes, then it’s put in the freezer for a few hours, after which, you have a great way to cap off any meal. It’s sometimes too decadent that it can hold its own, without being an accompaniment to a meal. But I’m not complaining. I rarely get to eat it now, because I’m always afraid I might get tonsillitis if I go overboard.
Photobucket

The dessert is almost too ubiquitous that I don’t really think posting it here would count as something special. And we didn’t have mangoes. There are variations of the ‘float’ – using canned fruit cocktail, peaches, and in my case, blueberry pie filling. The pie filling has been pitifully sitting at the back of our pantry probably since we moved in, more than a year ago. Or more, who knows? But it wasn’t going to go bad yet, and my mom has been prodding me to make something with the graham crackers that she bought.

It’s strange that making this made me think of making it with mangoes instead. Maybe because it’s more luscious and festive. I’m not saying this recipe is bad, of course! All I’m saying is, if mango float was summer, then this would be autumn. And as much as I’d like to imagine myself jumping in the foliage…autumn is nonexistent in the tropics.

And as for the title, well, this was just my attempt at being original. I think it didn’t work. (haha)

Photobucket

Blueberries and Cream Graham “Bars”

  • 20 pieces graham crackers (1 pack usually has 20 pieces)
  • 3 cups all-purpose cream
  • 1/2 cup condensed milk
  • 1 21-ounce can blueberry pie filling
  1. In a bowl, mix together the cream and condensed milk. Add the blueberry pie filling and mix well. Set aside.
  2. In an 8 by 11.5 by 2 inch pan, assemble the first layer of graham crackers at the bottom. Add the cream, enough to create a half an inch tall layer on the top the graham crackers. Top with another layer of graham crackers. Repeat the process until you reach the top.
  3. Place it in the freezer (make sure your pan is freezer safe) for a few hours or until the cream has solidified. You can also opt to just chill it in the refrigerator instead. Slice into bars when serving and enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Blueberries and Cream Graham “Bars”

  1. Hi Gio! Blueberries are in season here in the US, and it is summer! So yeah, your blueberry float would work as summer too!

    By the way, remember when our moms would use to say that eating too much sweets or cold things could cause tonsillitis? Hay, old wives tale pala. Nung unang nagkasakit ako ng tonsillitis dito sa States, sabi ng doktor kumain daw ako ng maraming popsicles para ma-ease yung sakit sa lalamunan. Nagtanong pa ako kung masama yun, natawa lang yung doktor. Muntanga lang for 27 years!

  2. Thanks for sharing. I’ll pass this on to my boy with a hope that he will balance his love for eating with a passion for cooking. Oh, did I say I love your blog. I do! Your words and photos sealed it for me. Keep going.

Leave a Reply

