The Midnight Market

Of course when you’re somebody who goes the extra mile for food, you’re no stranger to the weekend market culture. Weekend markets, more than anything else, are like big food festivals where local, up and coming and established purveyors of good food meet. Recently, I anointed myself with my first taste of what it truly means to hold off sleep and dinner  just so I can visit a weekend market at midnight. Just to eat. Here are a few photos of what to see (and taste) at Mercato Centrale at Bonifacio Global when we visited last weekend. And as I’m writing this we’re set to visit another food bazaar tomorrow – fingers crossed that I can sample at least, well, everything.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

The fact that you have before you a plethora of everything that’s either good, delicious, or expletive-ly mind-blowing, all under one roof is a good enough reason to wander, take in the sights, aromas, and dole out a few hundreds.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

No self-respecting market would ever be complete without ubiquitous barbecue stalls. True to form, people gravitated toward these stalls the most, probably because comfort and happiness is simply a stick (or five) of delicious charred pork, among other things.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

As luck would have it, I got the chance to sample the last stick of Cuisiniers’ Peppery Pork Barbecue, which won first place in the pork category of Food Magazine’s Backyard Barbecue Cook Off that happened in May. It was obviously a crowd favorite with good reason: it was perfectly grilled, and had a great sweet and savory flavor. I only wish there was more where it came from, because one stick just wasn’t enough.
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m starting to crave and appreciate Middle Eastern cuisine lately, so it was only natural for me to sample what Meshwe had to offer. I enjoy a good beef shawarma, so maybe because they only serve chicken shawarmas (no picture), I missed a little bit of that kick. It was tasty, but the chicken could have been more juicy.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Their Muhallabia/Rose-flavored Milk Pudding was a pleasant surprise. At first I couldn’t taste the rose, but after two spoonfuls of the silky smooth dessert, there it was like a flower in the dessert, if I’m being so poetic. The pistachios were a nice touch.
Photobucket

I ended the night with green tea and cookie dough mochis from mochiko. They were absolutely delicious. I was grinning from ear to ear like some doofus the whole time.
Photobucket

Something tells me this is only the tip of the iceberg. We only stayed for two hours and we felt that we could have sampled more. One item which I regret not to have tried:

Photobucket

Succulent roast pork. Did I really pass up the chance to raise my cholesterol levels with something as amazing as this? Oh well, at least I have one more reason to go back.

5 thoughts on “The Midnight Market

  1. Mercato is in my area, I used to go at night, where there are more vendors. Your post is exactly that, lots of customers, lots of food, way too much of the unhealthy kind. But oooh so good. He he. Sadly the Sunday Market is pathetic, only a few stalls and just a few people, in the morning. It may be different by lunchtime, but it’s too hot for me already. I go for early breakfast at around 8 am .

Leave a Reply

