Potato and Bacon Gratin

 I’ve been asked so many times how it feels to grow up having no brothers and sisters. At the top of my head I say it’s great: you get all the attention, financial and emotional support. I consider myself lucky. But there are some setbacks – I think about what could be, what could have been, and that’s when I feel the pang of loneliness. Don’t get me wrong I don’t wallow in it…I just want it sometimes. Then I wake up and reality sinks in. I might not have the biggest family, but I’m still happy and thankful.

Photobucket

This afternoon we visited our loved ones at the cemetery. It’s nothing grand. The scorching heat expedited our trip, but before we left, we said our prayers, lit our candles and left our flowers. I looked around and saw more than a few tombstones unkept, with the paint virtually gone. Clearly they were forgotten. It’s a sad sight really. I know this is getting heavy, but I just need to put it out there: I don’t want to be forgotten. I want to live a full life and all the frills attached to it and still be remembered by the people I left behind.

Photobucket

Yeah, I daydream a lot. I think about the things I can do, will do and should do. Sometimes I ask myself how I want people to remember me, what legacies I leave behind. I’m being romantic here, but I do want to be remembered because of my food and company, which go hand in hand.

Photobucket

I made potato gratin yesterday and I wanted to savor that moment. The funny thing is, the first time I made it for class, it was undercooked. I’m happy that I have the luxury of time to make sure this heavy, hearty dish is cooked perfectly. It’s a thing of beauty in its simplicity.
With the same desire of not being forgotten long after I’m gone, I don’t want to forget the moment I opened the oven and just knew everything made sense and fell into place. I was vindicated.

Photobucket

Potato and Bacon Gratin (serves 4 – 6)
  • 600 grams potatoes
  • 1 medium-sized red onion, minced
  • half a bulb of garlic, minced
  • 4 strips of bacon, sliced into small pieces
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • parmesan cheese, to taste
  • nutmeg, to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. In a pan, melt butter over medium heat. Add garlic and onion and saute until fragrant. Add the bacon and render the fat.
  2. Mix in the flour and keep on mixing until it becomes thick, almost like a paste (you’re making a roux). Once the flour-y taste has been cooked off, add in the milk. Stir to incorporate everything. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.
  3. Season with salt, pepper and a little nutmeg. Add the parmesan cheese and adjust seasoning. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Preheat the oven to 180 C/350 F. Peel and eye the potatoes. Carefully slice the potatoes, around 1/16th of an inch, like potato chips.
  5. Place the potatoes in the sauce pan and carefully mix together to coat all the slices with the sauce. Reserve a few bacon bits.
  6. Arrange the slices on a 10-inch pie plate. Once done, top it with more parmesan, bacon and sauce. Cover with foil and bake in the oven for an hour to an hour and fifteen minutes, or until potatoes are done.
  7. Remove from heat, slice into individual serving pieces and serve warm. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Potato and Bacon Gratin

  1. Pingback: Potato, Leek And Honey Gratin « Romancing the Bee

  2. Lucky for us we have our blogs to leave behind as our permanent legacies. I do worry now about a low head count at my funeral or my unattended grave, but hey, I’ll be dead by then and resting in peace (hopefully). Lovely gratin and other scrumptious food are some of the things I’ll miss when I die.

  3. What a lovely dish_simple, hearty, and truly delicious. I do think and feel the way you do about these sort of things, Gio. Living abroad makes me feel alone and isolated. I do worry about the low headcount at my funeral and, now that you’ve mentioned it, my unattended grave. But hey, why should I worry. I’ll be dead and at rest by then. The good thing is, we have our blogs to leave behind and for people to visit even when we’re gone. Isn’t that just great?

  4. Gratin looks delicious, live s bit of potato & cheese snything!

    Re your thoughts on the infinite ending, I hear you! It’s often in the quieter moments where we can listen to those deeper thoughts, (fears or wishes?) I’ve spent a bit of time wondering myself on what life’s legacy is (I have two sibs) so I figure it’s just a universal question! Life is bigger than each of us, after time things move on, people move on but (the memories) we keep with us, in our hearts and heads is the real living memory! Not the physical!

Leave a Reply

