So this is Binondo

Photobucket
I’ve always wanted to explore Binondo (Manila’s Chinatown) before the year ends and I’m glad that I got to cross one item off my proverbial bucket list last week. It’s strange that sometimes I think commuting can actually deter you from going on the actual “journey”. Case in point: it took us two hours to get to Quiapo (the adjacent iconic bargain shopping district, has a train station and is a stone’s throw away from Binondo) because Manila’s traffic was especially harsh. The usual throng of commuters from dawn until dusk is commonplace, but it’s something I need to get used to.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
But the journey was worth it, although with all the conviction in the world I can say that the trip barely scratched the surface. Next year we intend to go on one of those food tours because as much as Binondo should be seen, it also must be tasted.

The funny thing is the real reason why we went to Binondo is for me to buy ham from Exelente, another icon in Chinese hams, or so they say. Although I found out that reviews are mixed, my chef instructor raves about it, so I assumed that to buy one was already worth the hassle of the trip. And the cosmic joke of the day was Exelente’s shop is in Quiapo, not Binondo! All I had to do was consult google and of course I didn’t do it. The trip to Chinatown wasn’t a waste of course, since our heavy lunch at Wai Ying kept me happy. As a lover of sio mai, their offering didn’t disappoint. Of course the dumplings have to be good! The duck could have been more tender, since a good piece of duck cooked properly just sings.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
After lunch, when we were still looking for Exelente (the crucial bit of info came much later), it was only natural for us to travel on foot to offset what we ate (a natural rationalization). I took a few random photos here and there.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Then after three random inquiries (we were skeptical with the first two) that confirmed that the ham was in Quiapo, off we went. Getting there was easy, since people actually knew where Exelente was.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I admit, I was amazed.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
The boneless hams cost roughly 100php/100 grams.

The hams are pricier that what you would normally see in the groceries, because after consuming 90% a kilo in three days (YEAH), it was pretty obvious that Exelente’s hams are legitimate meat, and are a notch higher in taste. The holiday season must bring out the best in these hams. But I’m still on the look-out for other brands that are just as good or even better.

So there you have it. This trip is really the tip of the iceberg and now that I know what’s in store for me next time, I’m more than excited to dive head first in a food tour come 2013. It’s going to be a good year, I feel it in my bones!

Excelente Ham, Inc
155-157 Carlos Palanca Sr. Street
Quiapo, Metro-Manila

2 thoughts on “So this is Binondo

  1. Hi Kuya G! Hahaha

    I can say that I am a regular customer of Wai Ying and their milk tea is one of my guilty pleasures. Haha. Try their chicken feet! Also try eating at Golden Fortune along Soler St., not far from there. Their baked rice is good.

    There are a lot of reputable Chinese restaurants there and I have yet to try them. One of my college classmates lives there and I always forget to ask for some good places to eat. Probably 75% of our batch eats at Wai Ying from time to time. Haha

    Walking around Manila is always an adventure. Plus the churches around there are beautiful.🙂

Leave a Reply

