Chicken Roulade

I’ve been home for a few days now, and by home I mean this little dusty town of Zamboanga, far far away from the chaos of Manila. Being home for the holidays makes me all giddy because I have more than a few plans for Christmas dinner and all the lunches, dinners and meriendas leading up to it. This will probably be my longest holiday ever (3 weeks), and God knows if and when I get to come home next year so every moment has to count.

I brought home a few cookbooks with me, and because of that I had to dole out more than a thousand pesos at the airport because my baggage exceeded their weight limit. Lesson learned. But to have them with me during the holidays means I get to soak up as much inspiration as I can. I’m currently leafing through Saveur’s compendium of The New Comfort Food and already I’m listing down the things I can cook. Larousse On Pastry would be my go-to for desserts, and I can’t stress enough how important it is for me to make a decent cheesecake this year.

Memories of Philippine Kitchens, the one by Amy Besa and Romy Dorotan (owners of Purple Yam in New York) would have to be my favorite simply because I was there when they launched the revised edition at Powerbooks, and I got to have my copy signed. That was an awesome moment. And already I’m thinking of their recipe for ube/purple yam tarts.
Photobucket

Before I’m knee-deep in cookbook recipes, for Sunday lunch I felt that there was a nagging need to replicate something that my chef instructor demonstrated in school. Chicken roulade sounds and looks fancy but it’s actually very simple to make. It’s just rolled up chicken breast y’all!
Photobucket

I’ve always preferred dark thigh meat over white meat because the latter can get really tough when not cooked properly. The only real way to have juicy chicken breast is to cook it just enough and when it’s cooked just right, it’s really good. I could have gone the extra mile by making sauce from scratch, but there were people to feed and like me, they get really cranky when they’re hungry. And true to form, it was a great lunch.
Photobucket

Chicken Roulade (serves 2 – 3)

  • 4 chicken breast fillets, butterflied (click here for a tutorial)
  • bacon strips
  • a few pieces of basil
  • 1 medium-sized white onion, chopped
  • half a bulb of garlic, minced
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 284ml can cream of mushroom
  • 3/4 – 1 cup water
  • mushrooms of your choice, sliced (I only had canned button so I went with that)
  • salt, pepper and thyme
  • parsley, chopped for garnish
  • kitchen twine (or if you don’t have one, you can use toothpicks)
    1. On your work surface, season the butterflied breasts with a little salt and pepper.
    2. Then add a single horizontal layer of bacon strips to cover the breast. Top it with a few basil leaves.Photobucket
    3. Carefully roll the fillets starting from one side going to the other (essentially, left to right). Secure it by tying twine near the ends. Season the rolled fillets with salt, pepper and thyme.Photobucket
    4. Heat enough oil to cover the bottom of your pan. Make sure the oil is very hot before you add the chicken. Carefully add the chicken, and allow to sear. When one side is already golden brown, sear the other side. At this point, you don’t want to cook the chicken through and through, you just need a beautiful sear.
    5. When the chicken has been browned enough, remove from pan. In the same pan, add the onions and the garlic and saute.
    6. Add the flour and stir everything together until you create a light roux (mixture of flour and fat). Cook for about a minute over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
    7. Add the cream of mushroom and the water. Stir everything together. Bring to a boil and let it simmer. Adjust the taste to your preference. Add the mushrooms and the chicken.
    8. Cook for about  5 -6  minutes until sauce has reduced slightly. Remove from heat, garnish with parsley and serve with rice or mashed potatoes. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Chicken Roulade

  1. Pingback: Chicken breast roulade « Chef Doru's Blog

  2. Great recipe!

    I’m not that keen on chicken myself as I find it lacking in flavour compared to the game meat that I grew up with such as Pheasant, Quail and Pigeon. However I prefer the texture of the breast meat as I find the leg meat too greasy. It tends to get quite boring though having the same roast chicken every few weeks so your recipe will make a nice change.🙂

    PS. One of my all time favourite deserts is cheesecake! I remember growing up in the North West UK and there was an American restaurant that we used to visit as a family. The cheesecake was to die for and I remember it even now some 30 years later and I still haven’t found a cheesecake to match them.

Leave a Reply

