The 2012 that was

Just like last year, WordPress has been pretty generous in compiling and summarizing the stats The Hungry Giant accumulated this year. It’s been a generous, food-centric year for me. From their point of view, here it is:

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

About 55,000 tourists visit Liechtenstein every year. This blog was viewed about 170,000 times in 2012. If it were Liechtenstein, it would take about 3 years for that many people to see it. Your blog had more visits than a small country in Europe!

Click here to see the complete report.

Now from my end, I never imagined this blog would have so many highs in one year:

I was featured on Freshly Pressed, WP’s daily compilation of the best of the best wordpress blog posts around the world. My Chinese style crispy pork belly was a winner. At one point I was also did a salad demo on TV! That was before I really knew how to make a good salad but I just ran with it!

I cooked up a storm this year. Aside from the pork belly, my top 3 favorite recipe posts would have to be: red velvet cupcakes, homemade mayonnaise and of course, the ham that took 5 days to cure and 6 hours to braise! If you really know me, anything about pork, pork and more pork would still make the cut. The pork cutlets in a tomato peach marmalade sauce was good enough to be featured on DailyBuzz Food for one particular day, alongside the likes of Rasa Malaysia!

But more than anything else, 2012 was the year where life took me on a complete head spin.

I finally decided to take that leap of faith, move to Manila, and take up Culinary Arts. It was probably the best decision I’ve ever made. When I was still in a quandary on what my next step would be after graduating from college, I was invited by a Jesuit brother to one of those vocation sessions for young men. “What is that one career or thing you would gladly do, even if you were paid only a single peso?”, he asked me. “Cooking”, I told him after a second. That was probably the first time I acknowledged and faced that desire. And I’m glad I did. I can see myself growing (not in pounds of course) in the kitchen – I can do this for the rest of my life.

They said 2012 would be the year all shit goes down. Even if that isn’t true…a part of me did end. That person holding on to the idea that I can find a place in this world being a nurse eventually died. “Keep moving forward”, goes my favorite line from one of my favorite movies of all time, Meet The Robinsons. So it’s about moving forward, for accepting that certain dreams have to die to make room for bigger ones. It’s also about being brave in the face of uncertainty, because you’re the captain for your ship and no one else. It’s also about love, because there is no greater force that drives you to wait out storms and move mountains in the pursuit of happiness.

And because all of us are probably in a mad rush to welcome the New Year, a festive glass of Irish cream over ice and vanilla ice cream just works.

Photobucket

Happy New Year everyone! More feasts ahead!

3 thoughts on “The 2012 that was

  1. Amidst the crazy tidbits of living in the big city, facing EDSA madness together, waking up in the morning barely saying anything, hope you’ll always find me as your silent supporter. Want you to know I’m always on the side streets of your journeys–from high school to college to our ‘now’. Yes. Ever since you gave me pichie-pichie, that cute little puppy standing quiescently on top of my drawer. Happy 2013 GG;)

Leave a Reply

