First feast

Photobucket

Now it can be told: my days whizz by when I’m in the kitchen. I mean, I could kind of remember the sun hitting my face when I opened my eyes and I found myself on the early morning flight back home. Then…everything was a blur. There were good snippets of course: hosting a dinner for my friends, two charity events with the same people, Christmas lunch, and the micro-feast we had this morning. In between these events I was cooking up a storm, making sure time was blurred. In a few days I’ll be back in Manila and I hope I can make the most of the borrowed time.

A neighbor died today, January 1st. I’d like to believe he died a happy 79-year old man. “Life is too short”, his wife told us when we visited. Amen. We might as well enjoy the ride.

In the thick of things I found myself hitting the stress button more than once this morning when a few things didn’t go my way. But all was well, and I still couldn’t believe I put together almost all of what was on the table. Yay me.

Photobucket

The spread:

Now I would consider this paella pretty fancy – with the arborio and saffron. But I still crave the one my Mama Eng usually makes with regular rice and malagkit/sticky rice, with that nice color that only cheap atsuete can give! Recipe here. For two years now we’ve had paella for New Year. Not too shabby!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Chicken Galantina
Photobucket
Photobucket

homemade ham – recipe here
Photobucket
Photobucket

The ribs look glorious if I do say so myself.

Not all the meals I’ll have this year will be grand (I might even skip a meal or two). But I intend to enjoy this year in the company of good people and even better conversations. Let’s put ourselves out there! Happy New Year everyone. 🙂

3 thoughts on “First feast

  1. The ribs look delicious… penge!!! Teka… pork ba yan or beef? You know I love the pig hehehe.

    Saka yung ham… nakakatakam yung glaze. Nung naguto kami ng ham, semi-homemade lang eh. All I did was to put some store-bought glaze on store-bought ham. Easy diba? Heheh.

  2. I love your spread! Did my invite get lost in the mail ? Just kidding. Seriously, this is impressive, Gio. You did a fantastic job. My fave here is the chicken gallantina, although everything is delish! Thanks for the blog visit and the kind support through the year. May 2013 bring you all you’ve been wishing for!

Leave a Reply

