22

This week was my birthday week! I turned twenty-two a few days ago and that’s about it. I didn’t have my immediate family with me to celebrate my day but my friends both old and new helped me get by and redefine the word “celebrate”.

The night before my birthday we had dinner at one of the restaurants along the strip behind the nearby mall. It’s called Zoricho and it took us a while to understand that the specialty is actually chorizo, hence the name which is a play on the word. The chorizo sisig and the chorizo platter were the runaway favorites.
 photo file_zps96243972.jpg
 photo file_zps06f7dec0.jpg

On the day itself I had classes to attend. We were dismissed late and my friends and I were hungry. In a spur of the moment decision we all decided to eat at the all-you-can-eat Korean buffet conveniently located on the 3rd floor of the building our school occupies. The name isn’t really memorable since it’s in Korean, but we will go back next week because the selections taste great, all for 299php. It’s one of those “I can’t stop thinking about it” moments.
 photo file_zpsdd8621da.jpg
 photo file_zps58d6ee46.jpg

The day after, we were in the kitchen making our products for the day. It was the day of the cinnamon raisin loaf, and coming home hungry, I decided to just eat it with salad greens tossed in olive oil, salt and pepper and honey. It’s unconventional by my standards, but unconventional is good. Really good.
 photo file_zpsba148e8f.jpg
 photo file_zps241c53cd.jpg

When I was in high school our Literature teacher made us memorize and recite a poem just for the heck of it. She gave me “When I was one-and-twenty” by A.E. Housman. I’ve never forgotten it since:

When I was one-and-twenty
I heard a wise man say,
‘Give crowns and pounds and guineas
But not your heart away;

Give pearls away and rubies
But keep your fancy free.’
But I was one-and-twenty,
No use to talk to me.

When I was one-and-twenty
I heard him say again,
‘The heart out of the bosom
Was never given in vain;
‘Tis paid with sighs a plenty
And sold for endless rue.’
And I am two-and-twenty,
And oh, ‘tis true, ‘tis true.

The last few lines of the third stanza hit me hard, and not just because I’m already twenty-two. It’s merely a number. I’d like to measure my age differently. I’m no poet, but experience is so valuable. We may think we know the world, we may do things we might regret, we may fall in love and get hurt, and we may be riddled with scars and bruises…but we learn, we grow, and we transform. That’s the place I’m in right now.

Have a great weekend everyone!

 

2 thoughts on “22

  1. Family is not only by blood…they are those who keep you company through thick or thin. Happy birthday!
    P.S. – I love reading your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

