Fried Bananas/Prito Saging

Photobucket

Sometimes when I’d hop on over to the kitchen next door, at my grandparent’s house, I’d see a bunch of bananas on the table, and I know it could become one of two things: sareala or prito saging. Sareala is bananas stewed in coconut milk and muscovado sugar, while prito/frito saging literally means fried bananas. Today was all about the fried bananas.

They make a great all-day snack that’s really simple to prepare and really really addictive. I asked them what’s the banana that’s ideal for frying, they usual say, ‘Gardava‘, and would be quick to add, ‘not Saba‘. But it is peculiar to know that when you google ‘Saba Banana’, top sites would tell you that the Saba banana is also called ‘Cardaba’. Yes, it’s confusing. Photos of the Saba banana would show you a banana that is slightly angular, almost square-ish, and I can swear that the bananas used didn’t resemble the photo. Now as I’m typing this I realize how much of a dufus I am because I didn’t even think of photographing the banana in question. Nice one, Gio.

Anyway, don’t fret. If you’re lucky enough to have an abundance of fruit stands around your neighborhood, I’m sure the people manning it can help you out. But if the varieties are scarce, it’s reasonable to experiment. Who knows? You might stumble into your own little gold mine (of fried golden bananas).
Photobucket

Some recipes (and mothers, grandmothers, aunts) tell you to coat the bananas in flour, while some say just dump it in the hot oil right away. If the bananas are overripe and mushy, then it should be coated with flour to help preserve the structure. But if the bananas have peaked and ripened perfectly, then dump it in sans the flour. You’d want this kind of fried banana more – well, I would. They don’t mush too much even when they’re already golden brown. Sinking your teeth into it is a treat because if it’s perfectly cooked, then it’s going to melt in your mouth.

And slathering each piece with butter and sugar? Don’t get me started.
Photobucket

Prito Saging (serves 6 – 8)

This doesn’t even have a proper procedure.

  • 1 banana bunch, peeled, then sliced in half or quartered
  • enough oil for frying
  • butter and sugar, to serve
  1. In a pan/pot, heat enough oil to fry the bananas completely. Fry a few bananas at a time until golden brown. You may need to work in batches. If it’s possible, don’t use tongs to handle the bananas – use a spatula or slotted spoon.
  2. When done, remove from pan and place it on a plate lined with paper towels to absorb the excess oil.
  3. Serve with butter and sugar on the side. Enjoy!

24 thoughts on “Fried Bananas/Prito Saging

  1. This makes me miss home. My lolo keeps banana plants in our backyard and they have always ben so generous giving us saba. We would have pritong saging for breakfast and there’s enought to share with neighbors and still have some sent to relatives.

    Nice post.

  2. Wooot. Im starting to crave again. I made a halo-halo a while ago (for my snacks) and I thought, “Sayang wala akong pritong saging”. They’re a perfect match for me, though some might think that it’s not a proper match. but oh well, i still love em! 😀

    • Well halo-halo does have the minatamis na saging and next to leche flan that’s actually what I like to eat last when I’m eating a Chowking halo-halo so it actually makes sense to have it with prito saging. haha and good for you for making halo-halo! I haven’t really tried making it myself. LOL a Chowking one satisfies me. haha

      • I knooow 😀 but meh, i only have few available ingredients here. I just put some coconut jellies and minatamis na langka. I didnt even mind na maglagay ng one scoop ng ice cream and just told myself na okay na to as long as may magpapalamig sa akin despite the very warm weather 😀

  3. Oh my… you are making me drool. Bananas are my all-time favorite fruit. Love pritong saging, but I love turon, minatamis… anything basta saging. Saba is a favorite too, I love it raw as much as I love it in my turon… I’ve never heard of a variety called gardava but your saging looks so much yummier than the usual fried saba. Sana you can take a photo. 🙂

Leave a comment