Fresh

This is just a quick post to fill in the empty space in my head. Recipes have been at the center of my posts since the beginning so it’s good to allow myself to have welcome respites in between. Random bursts of brilliance, this is not. And I’m not fond of posting personal photos because this isn’t really a “dear diary” sort of blog. Anyway:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Remember the awesome lola/grandmother who was partly the reason why I made it to wordpress.com’s freshly pressed? Well, that awesome grandmother helped me re-pot the basil, rosemary and mint that I managed to buy from our local (and only) deli. So consider me a noob at herb gardening but as of the moment, they’re taking to the environment well.

Photobucket

Photobucket

If you’ve also noticed, I tinkered with the layout a bit, and finally (!) I found one that fits me and my blog. It’ll take me some time to get used to the new look because the last time I tried to change it, I ended up going back to my first layout. That’s how attached I was.

I know what you’re thinking, the header looks out of place. In the next few days, hopefully my elementary photoshop skills will be put to the test once again.

18 thoughts on “Fresh

  1. Hi Gio! 🙂 I want to invite you to a competition. I just learned about it last Saturday. Maybe you’d be interested to join. National Nutrition Council will be hosting a Regional Recipe Development Competition 🙂 Kaso you need to use indigenous vegetables as ingredients. Not more than 5 veggies excluding the condiments and seasonings. You can get an entry form at their office sa Cabatangan. Till March 16 ang submission of entry forms 🙂 Hope this helps!

  2. I want to start an herb garden too!! hahaha but that’s how i always am. I always want to start something but never get around to doing it. hehehe Good job on your blog, Gio! Really love it 🙂

      • Waaah don’t get me started about exercise! hahahaha 😀 I always tell myself to start exercising but I never do. Ughhhh 😀 You blog is awesome! it can only get better 😉

  3. How I wish I could start an herb garden but the balcony in my condo is kinda limited. Not to mention, I don’t think I have a green thumb. 😦 But nothing is impossible so maybe… just maybe someday. 😉 I want o plant dill and sage as these are harder to find in the market. Have fun in your garden.

    • Yeah, I hope you can find a way to grow herbs indoors. There’s just something really amazing about herb gardening that it becomes…almost an obsession the way it draws you in. hahaha

  4. Can’t wait to start my outdoors! I also want to grow one inside for the winter months but my black thumb is hindering me 🙂 Give a hug to Lola!

  5. Best wishes for your herb gardening. My wife and I have been growing herbs for years and even here in the cold north of UK they do well. We manage to grow a good range of herbs nearly all year round. We grow Rosemary, Thyme, Sage, Garlic, Basil, Fennel, Dill, Lavender, Chives and Mint. During the summer we also grow more delicate herbs as well as our vegetables. It is almost a family tradition now to send the kids out into the garden to pick and collect Rosemary and garlc to use with the roast potatoes for our Sunday dinner 🙂

    • Too bad our herb selection here where I’m from isn’t extensive. I got these herbs by sheer luck – we went to our deli and there they were, for sale outside. haha But it’s a start. 😀

  6. herb garden!!! and im starting mine too…. bought from La Tienda din! ha! been looking for fresh herbs kasi dito sa Zambo and ngayon lang ako nakahanap… my dad’s doing the repotting kasi sya ang may green thumb hehehe.. 🙂

    ey im a new follower… il add you up in my blogroll… please include me in yours too! 😉

    my Promding Chamimay blog’s a bit of a chopseuy… i blog about my travels, my kusina experiment at kung ano ano pa dun….

    see you around! 😀

    thanks!!!

  7. Yay! Great job, Gio! An herb garden is a cook’s best friend! I treat my plants like my “babies” – I still get sad everytime my tomato dies (it happens every winter because of frost!).

  8. One of the best things in the world is to be able to just go out and get stuff from my garden to cook with. BUT the best thing in the world is fresh herbs at hand, nothing better when cooking. Hope they all work out for you.

Leave a comment